Growing Thorns

on

A flower, that what it was.
When I saw it I supposed,
it was too pretty to hold.
Mistaken I thought,
it will always be sought,
who would be willing to leave it alone?

When I got close I was told,
it was left to its own,
fearing its thorns.
I got closer and it talked,
“With sharper things I’ve being hurt.
My thorns are a protection for my soul.”
Bewildered I spoke
“I see no thorns.
The moonlight by your beauty was overthrown.
Hurting you who would ever hope?”

To my heart, I kept it close.
I was happy holding it for so long,
but it wasn’t its home.
She left me alone.
She showed me why I need my own thorns.

Written by : ZuuZZa
Photographer : Austin Smart
3 Comments Add yours

    1. ZuuZZa says:

      thanks 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your most welcome comrade…

        Like

Leave a Reply

